Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

SDS Distinguished Lecture: Cynthia Dwork

Event Details:

Thursday, January 11, 2024
6:00pm - 9:00pm PST


Stanford University Mackenzie Room, Huang Engineering Center, 475 Via Ortega Stanford, CA 94305-4121, United States

This event is open to:

General Public

Stanford Data Science is pleased to host our Winter Distinguished Lecture on January 11th, 2024. Our speaker is Dr. Cynthia Dwork, the Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science at the Harvard University John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and Affiliated Faculty at Harvard Law School.

Please check back soon for talk details and registration. 

We welcome you to join us at 6:30pm for a dinner reception and an opportunity to engage with others in the Stanford Data Science community, followed by the lecture at 7:30pm. The Reception and Check-in are located on the 2nd Floor. 


Cynthia Dwork, Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science at the John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard, and Affiliated Faculty at the Harvard Law School and the Department of Statistics, is renowned for placing privacy-preserving data analysis on a mathematically rigorous foundation.  A cornerstone of this work is Differential Privacy, a strong privacy guarantee permitting sophisticated data analysis. Differential Privacy is widely deployed in industry, including in every Apple device, and is the backbone of the Disclosure Avoidance System for the 2020 US Decennial Census. Dwork joined Harvard after more than thirty years in industrial research at IBM and Microsoft. Some of her earliest work established the pillars on which every fault-tolerant distributed system has been built for decades.

Dwork is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the US National Academy of Engineering, and the American Philosophical Society, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the ACM. Her awards include the Gödel Prize, the ACM-IEEE Knuth Prize, the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award, the RSA Mathematics Award, the IEEE Hamming Medal, and test-of-time recognition in four fields.

Related Topics

Explore More Events